My Word for 2020 – An Update

Will You Take the One Word Challenge This Year?

This was something I’ve done every year since 2014:

(If you’ve never heard about the My One Word approach, here is a summary:

Lose the long the list of changes you want to make this year and instead pick one word. This process forces clarity by taking all of your big plans for life change and narrowing them down into a single thing. Your one word focuses on your character and creates a vision for your future.)

Below is a list of the words, I’ve chosen so far:

2014:514_400x400_NoPeel

2015:

2016:

2017:

Word Relax handwritten on sandy beach - Royalty-free Handwriting Stock Photo

2018:

Adapt chalkart

And 2019:

refocus

And 2020:

Image result for patience

I had many ideas for ways that I was going to be patient.

None of them really mattered. Once the Pandemic arrived (and is still around), my word took on a whole other life.  Who knew at that time, how appropriate this word would be?

  1. Being Patient when I could not run with my friends.
  2. Being Patient when I could not run in the places that I normally loved to run in.
  3. Being Patient that I could not travel and run in new places.
  4. Being Patient when my favorite races got cancelled.
  5. Being Patient when the races that I signed up for went virtual.
  6. Being Patient when my favorite races went virtual.
  7. Being Patient when gyms closed (and I don’t own any exercise equipment.)
  8. Being Patient when I have to carry a mask or wear a buff around my neck every time I run.
  9. Being Patient even when a race does happen, I have to deal with all the restrictions.
  10. Being Patient when after a long run, I can’t go out for an indoor brunch (and it’s cold out.)
  11. Being Patient when I can’t plan my racing schedule for next year.
  12. Being Patient when my pace has slowed to a crawl to due lack of racing and training mojo.
  13. Being Patient when COVID is the topic of almost every conversation.
  14. Being Patient with those who are overly paranoid about COVID.
  15. Being Patient with those who do not take COVID serious enough.
  16. Being Patient until I can get the vaccine.
  17. Being Patient with those who are skeptical of the vaccine.

I’ll stop but I could go on and on.  Yes, as they say “This too shall pass.” But I’m tired of being patient!!

I know it’s Friday, but it’s 2020, I could NOT limit myself to FIVE.


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! If you were to choose ONE word for your focus throughout 2020, what would it have been? Have you been “patient” this year? Please share.

Baby, It’s Cold Outside

It’s Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

I must say that I HATE the cold.  I much prefer running in the heat but living in the Northeast, the cold arrives too soon and lasts too long. And although, it’s ONLY December 11 (and not even officially winter) …it’s COLD!!

I think that about sums things up.

So here are my top tips to make it through running in the winter:

1. Layers keep you warm but remember not to dress too warmly.  If it is 20 degrees, dress for 40. The bottom layer should be breathable.  You will sweat no matter how cold it is. My middle layer is usually a fleece vest and for the outside layer, I wear a windbreaker or light jacket.

The infographic below is very helpful:

or use this tool that will suggest what to wear, based on the info you input – http://www.runnersworld.com/what-to-wear

2. But wear enough to stay warm. I always wear tights with a skirt over them (keeps my butt warm). I wear wool socks, gloves/mittens and a beanie.  My head, hands and feet are what gets cold first.

if you are properly dressed, you can smile in the cold.

3. If you run when it is dark (yes it gets dark so early), wear light colors, carry a flashlight or wear a head lamp and run where there are lights.

I prefer knuckle lights

4. If it is snowing, wear Yak Trax or put screws in your shoe bottoms, go slower and watch for icy patches.

love my Yaks but always hope I never have to wear them

5. Don’t worry about fashion.

I usually care what I wear in the warmer months. But in the winter, not so much. I try not to spend much money on winter running clothes. I wear old race shirts and vests and jackets from Target.  I buy gloves at Dollar Store. I use $1 cut off knee socks as arm warmers.

The important thing is to just get out and RUN! And talk your friends into doing the same.  Misery loves company LOL.

Remember:

beasts

Happy Running!  Do you like running during the cold weather months? Any other tips? Has it already gotten cold where you live?

runner-sig

Ultimate Coffee Date for December

It’s that time of the month…

Running Therapy

to join up with Coco & Deborah for their ultimate coffee date.

Yes, it’s been that kind of month..

1.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I always set 1000 miles as my yearly goal for running.  I’ve only reached that milestone twice (2016 & 2017).  But it means that I’ve been consistent with my running and didn’t have too many injuries.  I was pretty sure that due to my painful neuroma, toe and bunion plus the strained SI joint, I would not reach it this year. But I just may. Stay tuned…

just getting in the miles with the help of my friends.

Do you have yearly, monthly or weekly mileage goals?

2.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I’m still struggling with remembering what to wear when it is cold out.  I run “hot.”  And I can’t stand to be warm when I run.  I get sweaty and then afterward, I am really chilled.  I hope I figure it out before spring. LOL

still wearing the extra jacket and having to tie it around my waist – ugh!

Are you successful in dressing properly when the seasons change?

3.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I am not sure when my next half marathon will be.  As of now, there are NONE scheduled in my area. There are two that I’m eyeing for February in Florida.  But who can make plans with the rise in COVID cases. Nevertheless, I’ve decided to try to keep up my run at least 10 miles on Saturday streak.

It’s a little challenging in the cold weather and when no one else is running that many miles

Do you run double digit runs even if you are not training for a race?

4.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that the pandemic is lasting longer than I ever thought.  I’m not a gym person but I did go when I couldn’t run to use the stationary bike.  Of course, I thought by winter, it would be open again. Nope. Not happening.  I’m debating on what to do when it is unsafe to run outside (snow, ice).  I’m not a treadmill person but maybe a spin bike???

I’ve only tried one in the hotel in NYC

Any recommendations?  Not a Peleton but an inexpensive spin bike? 

5.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I don’t like to share all the doom and gloom in my life on the blog (not judging anyone who needs to) but now I have good news.

All four of my immediate family members who were very sick with COVID seem to be on the mend.  Phew.  It was very scary.

I hope none of you personally have to deal with this awful virus.


It’s Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Got anything to spill? Share it here!
runner-sig

Runfessions for November ’20

It’s that time again. Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

1. I runfess…

I get FOMO looking at those pictures of runners running at sunrise.  I am an early riser so I could do it too but I watch those beautiful reds and oranges in the sky while drinking a cup of coffee and scrolling through FB and IG.

Anyone else struggle to get out there to run in the early morning hours?

2. I runfess…

I searched all summer for my pink compression socks.  Now that it is too cold for skirts, I found them!! But wouldn’t you know it, now I can’t find my favorite buff and running shirt.

Do you misplace things or is it just me?

3.I runfess…

I have had a Strava account for years and never used it.  I finally did because the free virtual 5ks that signed up through NYRR asked you to post there.

I tried not to be embarrassed with how slow my pace was lol

Anyone else use Strava to record runs or interact with other runners?

4. I runfess…

I did not use my Garmin during my recent REAL half marathon but I missed it.  Not in the way, you think. It was so freeing to enjoy racing and not think about pace and finish time.

at mile 10.6

But I had NO stats.  I always look after a race at my pace for each mile.  And of course, overanalyze things.

Does anyone else obsess over their race stats?

5.I runfess…

My recent race made me realize how much I missed the atmosphere and runner connection at a real race even COVID-style. I did register for a 5K in NYC in a few weeks. I am, of course, hesitating to go due to the rise in the number of cases. I’m pretty sure that the race itself will be safe.  Other races have been held there but it’s all the other stuff to worry about.

So I am waiting until the last minute to decide (I can cancel my free hotel room until 6 pm the night before).

there’s always next year…


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month? So glad to get mine out in the open? Can you identify with any of them? Please share.

runner-sig

Four (or Five) Somethings for November

January 2018 Share Foru Somethings #ShareFourSomethings

Thanks to Laurie from Meditations in Motion, I discovered a link up started by blogger Heather Gerwing. The fourth Saturday of each month (for me a Tuesday), Heather invites other bloggers to share their “Four Somethings”: Something Loved, Something Read, Something Treasured, and Something Ahead. Sharing these four somethings is a great way to recap your month and highlight what stood out to you. If you are a blogger, you may post your Four Somethings too!

1. Something Loved.

Election Results

I try not to be political on this blog. But what I love that that we’ve broken the glass ceiling and have a FEMALE vice-president.

how cool is that? A runner as VP.

And the wife of the new President is also a runner.

Jill Biden reports to run or exercise EVERYDAY

Are you excited about having Kamala as the new VP? Did you know Jill was a runner?

2. Something Read.

I borrowed this from a co-worker and I was anxious to read it since A Man Called Ove is one of my favorite books.

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

It is about a bank robbery gone wrong, a hostage situation, an apartment-viewing, relationships, parenthood, friendship, forgiveness… I could go on and on.

As with all his books, it was humorous and touching at the same time. I might have shed a tear or two at the end.

Have you read this or Backman’s other novels?

3. Something Treasured.

My Running Friends

Most (or maybe all) are not training for long races like I am.  Yet they offer to run with me.  They show up on Saturdays even if they not running. They support me (even if they think I’m crazy.)

I got the hiking bug and they eagerly joined me.

Do you have people that you have treasured during this pandemic?  

4. Something Ahead.

A visit to NYC and a real race.  I am using my free hotel points and cross my fingers that it will be safe to do this.

Dec. 6, 2020

NYC is always a magical place around the holidays.  Pics below are from 2019.

 I am sure it will be different this year.

Are you looking forward to anything (besides the end of the Pandemic)?

and since it is Friday…

5. Something Learned

Carpe Diem

Yes, Seize the Day because life is indeed short.  The Pandemic has shown us that.  Be Safe (wear that mask if you are indoors or closer than 6ft outdoors!!) but don’t overthink things and miss opportunities. Don’t procrastinate. Get out there.

Has the Pandemic made you less spontaneous?


It’s Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! What are your somethings? Share at least ONE. 

Racing During COVID-19 Times

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

I haven’t run a race since February 2020.

smiling even in the pouring cold rain

Like most of you, I have hesitated to race even once real (in-person) races were offered.

But enough is enough.

I am running a race on November 15.

My Friday Five topic this week is Why You Should (or can) Run a Real (In-Person) Race Now

  1. Precautions are in place.

Staggered starts. Masks wearing when not racing.  No water stops. No spectators. Altered post-race food options. Wide running routes.

STEVE SCHALLENKAMP: Region is returning to a new normal in running | Sports | dailyfreeman.com

Race Directors have put a lot of thought into making sure that EVERYONE is safe.  They do want to continue offering races and they do not want anyone getting sick.

2. Staying Connected with the Running Community.

Most runners are either running alone or with a small group of friends.

Runners who race are social. We need our peeps.

I miss seeing those runners that I know but only see at races.  I have made friends with runners that I have met at races.

I also miss that support that you only get from other runners before and after a race.

3. Supporting the Racing Organizations.

Yes, it is a business like any other.  They need money to stay in business.

You can support them by signing up for virtual races but I am sure they do not make nearly as much income that way.

unfortunately for this race, my only choice was to run it “virtually”

Once the pandemic is over, we will want these organizations in business so we have a nice selection of races to choose from (and at affordable prices).

4. Paying for and Earning Swag.

If you like swag, you do not have to run an in-person race.  You can pay the $$ and run it virtually.

But it is costly.  I just paid $90 for a race that went virtual (with no refund or referral option.)

sure, we had fun but no one was racing it.

If I am not running on that particular course (and I just choose an easier one), I do not feel that I deserve that swag.  I do not even consider it a “race”. It is just a run with swag that you paid $$ for.

yes it would have been a more difficult race in NYC

5. Training and Running Mojo.

Does anyone really follow a training plan if they are not going to be running a “real” race???

Maybe loosely because we are runners and do not want to lose our endurance.

It is very difficult to stay motivated.

I am a runner that gets her mojo from racing.  Not having raced since Feb, has me still running but very casually and very slowly.

just going through the motions while my friends are walking

As I have often said, my opinions are my own.  I am not being critical of those who disagree.  Feel free to comment but not about personal issues, politics or beliefs.

I have a pregnant daughter-in-law, friend with cancer, 95 year-old mother-in-law. I am not being reckless around them IMO because I choose to run an in-person race.

This is about running not COVID.

Happy Running! Have you run a real race yet?  Are you planning to? Why or Why not? Please share.

runner-sig

Ultimate Coffee Date for November

It’s that time of the month…

Only The Best Grandmas Go Running Aqua T-Shirt Front

ETA: 5-25-21

to join up with Coco & Deborah for their ultimate coffee date.

1.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that, in case you don’t know yet, I’m going to be a grandma in May.  We’re very excited.  It is a surprise since my daughter-in-law was told that she most likely couldn’t get pregnant and they have been trying for awhile.

And it’s a BOY so I guess I can start quilting/knitting and shopping.

may have to buy this!!

Any running grandmas out there??

2.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I have a new challenge.  It’s actually one that I thought of when the pandemic started but now it’s a real one:

Before it was announced, I had already visited 17 out of 20.  The 3 left were just not nearby. And I just finished!!!

#20

Are you participating in any challenges?

3.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I also participated in the RGB Challenge.

It was only 78 miles between Sept 20, 2020 and Nov. 3 2020Feb. 1, 2021.  Since I finished in a few weeks, I continued logging my running and walking miles.  My goal was to see how many miles I could accumulate and maybe finish in the top 20 out of over 8,000. (Just call me an Overachiever).  And I did pretty well.  I decided to stop posting on Nov. 2.

17th out of 8078.

Did anyone else Run for Ruth?

4.Over coffee…

I’d tell you I said that I was over virtual races.  And I meant PAYING for them  There are quite a few FREE NYRR races.  And so I did sign up for them (2 in Oct, 3 in Nov, 1 in Dec).

Most are 5ks (and I do get a medal if I do 3 out 5 and record them on Strava).

Dash to the Finish 5k is done!

This is the only longer one.

Virtual NYRR Ted Corbitt 15K

between Nov 30 & Dec 6.

Any more virtual races on your schedule? Free or for money? Anyone want to join me on the Free NYRR races?

5.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I miss NYC big time.  I used to go there several times a month for work

Dec 2019

and several times a year with friends…

Oct 2019

and then there were the races…

Jan 2020

So on a whim, I registered for a NYC race on Dec 6.  Most likely it won’t be safe to go…but a girl can dream.

**6. And I forgot to announce here that I am now (in addition to Skirt Sports), a ZOOMA Ambassador.

I am very excited because I LOVED my ZOOMA Bermuda experience.  I hope to participate in ZOOMA Cape Cod next fall.

Any ZOOMA ambassadors out there?  Anyone planning on any ZOOMA races?


It’s Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Got anything to spill? Share it here!
runner-sig

Runfessions for October ’20

It’s that time again. Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

1. I runfess…

I signed up for a series of 8 fall virtual 5k races. They were free and I thought that they would motivate to improve my pace and get more serious about running.

They did not.  I grew more disinterested with each one and my pace got slower and I walked more.

Obviously virtual races are not races in my eyes.

2. I runfess…

I also signed up for a virtual half marathon because it was ZOOMA race, the ZOOMA director bought Skirt Sports (I have been, as you know, a Skirt Sports ambassador for many years) and there was great swag.

AmeliaNoMedal_Mockup_Social.jpg

I am so over paying for virtual races.  I feel bad for the racing companies and charities but no more!!

last one!!

3.I runfess…

I’m struggling with the fact several of my running friends have become walking friends (and my consistent partner is wintering in Florida).  I know it’s selfish but I like company when I run.  And although there are no races, I still want to keep up with my long runs.

I miss the races we used to run together.

4. I runfess…

I want this pandemic to end so I can travel again.  I have a trip tentatively planned in February but Florida is a hot spot and even if there race happens, I wonder if my Florida friends will let me stay with them.

View of the beach in Fort Lauderdale from Florida's A1A. (Photo by Jared/flickr)

I know this is where I will want to be in Feb!!

5.I runfess…

I’m pretty nervous about my upcoming “real” half marathon.  I forgot what it was like to race.  I’m pretty sure that it will my slowest one ever.  I don’t really care about that. I just hope it will be still fun and won’t taint my vision of racing.

STEVE SCHALLENKAMP: Region is returning to a new normal in running | Sports | dailyfreeman.com

the new normal – staggered starts, no water stops, no bag check – masks


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month? So glad to get mine out in the open? Can you identify with any of them? Please share.

runner-sig

So you want to hike?

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

My Friday Five topic this week is What you need to be a successful hiker

But just like running, if you don’t have the right stuff, it could be a nightmare.

  1. Shoes.

It depends on if you just walking a flat trail or climbing up a rocky one.

Until recently, I just wore my trail running shoes and they worked fine.

proud to have crossed a creek on that log

But waterproof boots are helpful when it is muddy or you have to cross water.  They also offer more support on a rocky or steep trail.

new boots, cheap poles, orange hat and swag bag

2. Support.

Your legs are going up and down. Over rocks and trees.  I usually just use I stick from a tree.  It’s the perfect height and weight for me.

getting to the top with my trusty stick

Hiking poles also work great.  I bought a cheap pair and they broke the first hike.  I did order a new pair.

3. Clothes.

Just like running, wear layers.  You will be cold at first and then warm up.

started out with gloves and a jacket…capris are my favorite since you can add socks for warmth

Wear orange or pink during hunting season.

my shirt is orange

4. Connectivity.

Always bring your cell phone.  Download the ALLTRAILS app so you can track your route. But know that you may not have cell service. So be prepared.

Download the trail map before you go!!!

5. Supplies.

Obviously you need water and a treat for the top of your climb (or end of your trek.)  Also bring toilet paper, bug spray, sunscreen, extra pair of socks, windbreaker.

snack break

You can carry everything in a light back pack.  I actually use ones I’ve gotten as swag from races (as you see in the photo above).

**6. Companions

Obviously it’s more fun to go hiking with someone else.  Make sure you all have the same expectations, ability and endurance. Otherwise it is not fun.

for my running friends, 3 miles with moderate climbs is enjoyable for everyone

I am sure that dogs make the best companions.  I have seen so many hikers with their furry friends that I get FOMO.

if you look closely, you’ll see some small dogs with colorful vests

Happy Running! Do you like to hike? Do you hike often? Any other helpful hiking tips?

runner-sig

Take a Hike

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

My Friday Five topic this week is Why I Like To Hike.

By hiking, I don’t only mean climbing mountains (though they are fun too). I mean doing walking trails especially ones with a view at the end.

  1. No Pace or Distance To Worry About. 

You can go slow or fast.  Run or Walk.  You can go as far as you want and then go back to where you started.  Pretty simple.

You can do it alone or with friends. Anytime, anywhere.

2. It’s Great Exercise.

Your legs are going up and down. Over rocks and trees.  You also use your arms to help you climb or hold onto trees. It’s a workout!

3. You Get To See Nature At Its Finest.

Trees, flowers, birds, animals.  Butterflies are my favorite.

4. It’s Peaceful.

I spent quite some time on a hike just looking out. You can forget about all the problems in the world.

5. It’s FREE.

Most hiking trails are well-marked, have parking and don’t cost a thing. And there are so many to choose from.  Just download the AllTrails app and take a look.

**6. It can be Challenging.

If you are competitive, there are hiking challenges – The Fire Tower Challenge (Complete 18 in Adirondacks and 5 in Catskills) or be a 46er (climb all the high peaks in the Adirondacks).

Or climb to the top of a mountain. The feeling of reaching the top is just as gratifying as a PR.

Happy Running! Do you like to hike? Do you prefer the challenging ones or just trail walks?

runner-sig