Motivation Tips

It’s Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

My Topic this week is: Motivation to Run

There have been many days where I struggled to get out the door … so here are my recommendations.

Hopefully they will help you when you need that extra “motivation.”

1. Call a Friend

It’s harder to skip a run when someone is waiting for you.

2. Put it on your Calendar

It’s just as important as a work meeting or a dentist appointment. So schedule it.

3. Prep the Night Before

If I ran in the morning, my running stuff would be on the floor next to my bed. Since I run after work, I pack my running clothes the night before.  It’s so easy to skip the run when you are tired in the morning or wake up late.

IMG_4793

4. Plan your post run Reward.

It may be coffee or ice cream or brunch if you need food gratification. Or maybe a shopping trip.

5. Register for a Race.

If you have a race on your schedule, you are more likely to get that run in.

Image result for fred lebow half

Jan 19 – my next one!! Well, maybe not… more like Feb 16.

Happy Running! Do you struggle with running motivation from time to time? Any other tips that you can share?

Four (or Five) Somethings for November-December

January 2018 Share Foru Somethings #ShareFourSomethings

Thanks to Laurie from Meditations in Motion, I discovered a new link up started by blogger Heather Gerwing. The fourth Saturday of each month, Heather invites other bloggers to share their “Four Somethings”: Something Loved, Something Said, Something Learned, Something Read. If you are a blogger, you may post your Four Somethings too!

It’s time even though it’s Friday. LOL

1. Something Loved.

Marathon Weekend.

Not just the race but

  • the day preceding: the expo, the Meb talk and carb-loaded dinner and dessert
  • the day of: hanging with Cari beforehand, crossing that finish line, post race dinner and bar chat
  • the day after: Normatec boots, climbing the Vessel and brunch with friends

and PERFECT weather all three days

I am a lucky lady.

2. Something Said.

I attended a talk by Meb the day before the NYC Marathon…so I’m kinda obsessed with things that he has said:

“Like the marathon, life can sometimes be difficult, challenging and present obstacles, however if you believe in your dreams and never ever give up, things will turn out for the best.”

Words to live by, for sure.

“But I also realize that winning doesn’t always mean getting first place; it means getting the best out of yourself.”

In other words, celebrate finish lines not finish times. And if you do your best, you are a winner.

“Nobody said it’s going to be easy. You have to dig into yourself. Think about your family. Think about the journey itself. THINK IN THE MOMENT.”

Definitely true!!! About a marathon or any challenge in life.

3. Something Learned.

I know it’s corny but I learned that:

Image result for i can do hard things"

I ran 26.2 miles at age 66. With plates and screws in one ankle. With many shortened or missed weekday runs.

I was not sure that I could run a marathon especially one as hard as NYC.

Now I know that I can.

4. Something Read.

I recently finished reading this book. It’s about the power of words and thoughts. If you were told the day of your death, would you live differently? What if you knew you had only 5 years…what about 50 more? Would such knowledge predetermine the knowledge of a date becoming the truth of the date? This is a story that indirectly asks these questions. Four siblings visit a fortune teller who gives them each a date. The trouble is, they are just children and this knowledge (whether true or not) directs all their future choices. Interesting story of the power of influence and belief.

5. Something Seen.

Hamilton on Broadway

and Les Miserables, the Concert movie.

Image result for les miserables concert movie tickets"

I absolutely loved Hamilton and Les Miz is my all time favorite show and sound track.

On cloud nine.


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! What are your FOUR or Five somethings? Share at least ONE.

Ultimate Coffee Date for December

It’s that time of the month…

and that time of year

to join up with Coco & Deborah for their ultimate coffee date.

1.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I taken up yoga again.  I used to go weekly and then my favorite yoga instructor left and I stopped going.

I’m not one to do things at home. I need to sign up for a class and then I’ll go.

I started with Cat Yoga and it was fairly enjoyable… very low key so a good way to start up again.

that’s me in the pink skirt…thanks Lloyd for the pic

I’ve gone to Hot Yoga too …the participants can bend like pretzels but I do what I can and I do enjoy the warm temps.

I also attended a Yoga for Runners class which focused on the lower back/spine …just what I needed. (I plan to attend another one fro upper back and shoulders.)

And of course another Cat Yoga class at the same location as the Yoga for Runners class.

Do you do yoga? If you do, do you do it on your own or sign up for classes?

2.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that though it’s no surprise but I am hating the cold temps and early winter weather conditions.

My biggest problem is that I have amnesia when it comes to dressing…I am either overdressed or cold.

too warm in that heavy vest

Do you remember how to dress to run from season to season?

3.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that in addition to hating the weather, I despise the lack of daylight.  It cuts down on the places that I can safely run after work.  There’s only ONE lit up route and that’s UAlbany….BORING.  I like to run in different places.

I may have to get up early and run before work. UGH!!!

Do you run outside in the dark?

4.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I am back to traveling for work.

Last month it was 3 days in NYC.  Not complaining…

I met up with running friends Cari and Elizabeth and also saw HAMILTON!!!

Work travel can have its perks now and then.

This week I am back in NYC for 5 days.

Good news is that in Manhattan, there are loads of places to run with lights… and of course at Christmas time, lots to see and do.

Anyone else love to visit NYC at this time of year?

5.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that now that my marathon training and marathon is over, I’m debating a new challenge for 2020.

Image result for 12 half marathon in 12 months"

One half marathon each month???

I already have one planned for January (Fred LeBow in NYC), February (ZOOMA in Bermuda), March (NYC Half), April (Helderberg 2 Hudson) and May (Sacandaga or Steel Rail)….

What’s 7 more?  LOL

What do you think of my my goal? Has anyone ever run 12 halfs in one year?

Of course, I wrote this post before I had a sore foot….all these racing plans may be on hold….


It’s also Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Got anything to spill? Share it here!
runner-sig

Runfessions for November ’19

It’s that time again. Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

1. I runfess…

I bought finisher items before I actually ran the marathon.

Of course, I did worry afterward that I would jinx it and not finish.

Image result for new balance nyc marathon finisher gear"Image result for new balance nyc marathon finisher gear"

Well, at least I waited until after the race to wear them. Thank God I did finish!!

Anyone else buy finisher gear before they actually finish the race?

2. I runfess…

I agreed to share my room during Marathon weekend with someone before I even met them.

I was again worried since I am such a light sleeper and the NYC hotel rooms are tiny.

Yup, Lacey was my roommate and it all worked out fine (At least I think she liked me.)

Anyone else agree to share a hotel room with someone that they had never met before?

3.I runfess…

I wore a skirt for the first time for my marathon.

Yes, 26.2 miles in something I’ve never run in before. I only wore it because it had many pockets (for my fuel) and I even had to shorten it because it was too long.

It was given to me by Cari because it is a weird size and fit. Skirt Sports no longer sells it (probably a good reason for that…) High Five skirt, I think it was called.

I don’t usually chafe but what if I did? and what if it was uncomfortable?..a marathon takes a long time to run.

Thankfully, the skirt was ok.  It definitely was not my most comfortable or best looking skirt but the pockets served their purpose.

Anyone else wear a new item for the first time during a big race?

4. I runfess…

I was relieved that my hubby could not go watch me at the marathon.

It would be much too stressful to worry about the race and worry about him too. He does not know NYC.  I couldn’t imagine him waiting for hours in the crowd to see me pass by.

I am grateful that I did spot some familiar faces in the crowds.

Anyone else prefer to travel to race-cations without their significant other?

5.I runfess…

In addition to my first full marathon, I also ran a 10k, 15k and 5k during the month.

Why not cover all the distances?

And racing should be for fun not PRs.

And these races were fun (and not PRs lol)

having fun at the Stockade-athon 15K

after the 10k and before the 5k where I would get another medal

Anyone else race-obsessed? Do you race for fun or time?


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month? Please share.

runner-sig

Baby, It’s Cold Outside (Already)

It’s Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

I must say that I HATE the cold.  I much prefer running in the heat but living in the Northeast, the cold arrives too soon and lasts too long. And although, it’s ONLY November…it’s COLD!!

I think that about sums things up.

So here are my top tips to make it through running in the winter:

1.Layers keep you warm but remember not to dress too warmly.  If it is 20 degrees, dress for 40. The bottom layer should be breathable.  You will sweat no matter how cold it is. My middle layer is usually a fleece vest and for the outside layer, I wear a windbreaker or light jacket.

The infographic below is very helpful:

or use this tool that will suggest what to wear, based on the info you input – http://www.runnersworld.com/what-to-wear

2. But wear enough to stay warm. I always wear tights with a skirt over them (keeps my butt warm). I wear wool socks, gloves/mittens and a hat.  My head, hands and feet are what gets cold first.

3. If you run when it is dark (yes it gets dark so early in the winter), wear light colors, carry a flashlight or wear a head lamp and run where there are lights.

I prefer knuckle lights

4. If it is snowing, wear Yak Trax or put screws in your shoe bottoms, go slower and watch for icy patches.

love my Yaks

5. Don’t worry about fashion.

I usually care what I wear in the warmer months. But in the winter, not so much. I try not to spend much money on winter running clothes. I wear old race shirts and old windbreakers.  I buy gloves at Walmart and tights at Target. I use $1 cut off knee socks as arm warmers.  Wonder Wool may work great but who has the $$$?

The important thing is to just get out and RUN! And talk your friends into doing the same.  Misery loves company LOL.

Remember:

beasts

Happy Running!  Do you like running during the cold weather months? Any other tips? Has it already gotten cold where  you live?

runner-sig

The Marathon Ad

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Ok, I said that I would stop talking about the Marathon but …

Not yet…

If you have never done one, this post is for you.  Remember, I was one of you. I never wanted to run one either.

Why should YOU run a marathon?

1. You’ll stay motivated to run.

For other distances, you may be able to skip runs and still succeed.

But you can’t get away with not training when it comes to a marathon. So having one on your calendar will keep you motivated to stick to a training schedule, at least for those long runs.

On days when your motivation is lacking, you’ll think about how you’ll feel during those 26.2 miles if you’re undertrained or can’t finish the race.

2. You’ll be a great role model. 

It’s hard not to revere someone who is dedicated and determined to complete a substantial goal such as running a marathon. You’ll be setting a great example for many people in your life – family, friends, co-workers, etc.

Even though, it may not be true, people will be telling you how “awesome” you are.

If you are lucky, you will inspire someone to start running or run a longer distance race.

3. You’ll find out that pain is indeed temporary.

Pain, chafing, sweat, tears, and blood will all just be memories.

Yes, you will most likely hurt.  The pain may be so bad to make you want to quit.

But you won’t.

When you see that finish line in the distance, you will forget. You will cry but they will be tears of joy.

4. You’ll gain the confidence you never knew you had.

Although you’ll no doubt experience rough patches during your training. After you’ve logged that 20-miler, you’ll feel like you can conquer the world. Your running confidence will overflow into other areas of your life, such as work and relationships.

You’ll enter that marathon start line with your eyes on the prize (the finish line.)

5. You’ll have a lifetime of bragging rights.

Once you cross that finish line, you’re a marathon finisher and will always be one. No one can ever take that title away from you.

Remember only 1% of population has run a marathon.

Happy Running! Have I convinced you? A little bit? If you ran a marathon already, what was your reason?

runner-sig

The NYC Marathon Edition

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

So as I am sure you know, last Sunday I ran the NYC Marathon as my first full marathon.

Eventually I will stop talking about it…

but not yet.

What did I learn from this experience?

1. Long Training Runs are easier if you have company.

I was lucky. I never did them alone. I may have run some of the miles each weekend solo but for every run, my running friends were there to support my efforts.  I couldn’t have done without you guys. ❤

2. It is Better to Be (10 Miles) Undertrained than (1 Mile) Overtrained.

I heard this from a fellow blogger and friend. I’m not sure that I believed it.

Basically I felt undertrained because my job got in the way of doing any longer runs during the week. I usually ran 3-4 miles instead of the 5-10 on the training plan.)

in Rochester along the Erie Canal

I worried that my legs would not be strong enough to carry me through 26.2 miles.

However, I think the lower mileage helped keep me injury free the whole 18 week training cycle and enabled me to complete the long weekend runs better.

3. Pain is indeed Temporary.

Yes, my feet hurt. My hips ached. My lower back…Oy. The Pain.

Everything hurt during miles 14-20 this day… so I knew what to expect I guess

But as soon as the race is over, you forget about it and you savor the experience.

Every time I look at my medal, I don’t think about the pain. I smile and I am proud of what I accomplished.

4. Marathon Training does not have to take over your Life.

I was afraid that I would be obsessing and thinking about nothing else but the marathon.

Work being very busy and traveling for 8 weeks during peak training helped take my mind off the suggested weekly mileage.

I went to movies, shows, dinners and spent quality time with my family and friends. I never said I CAN’T. I HAVE TO RUN.

high school reunion (instead of my run)

5. I Enjoyed the Race immensely. I’m glad I did it. But I don’t want to run another.

Back to running short races, skipping bad weather runs and signing up for Half Marathons.

H2H Half

The Good Life. 🙂

Happy Running! If you have run a marathon (or a half marathon), what did you learn from the experience? Please share.

runner-sig

NYCM Ultimate Coffee Date for November

It’s that time of the month…

NYC State of Mind

to join up with Coco & Deborah for their ultimate coffee date.

The NYC Marathon Edition….

1.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I am excited about running my FIRST full marathon and I am glad that I chose NYC. It’s only a train ride away, I have free pts for my hotel and most importantly, I do LOVE NYC and know my way around this city.

after the Poland Spring Race last October. Who knew??

If you have run a marathon (or half), which one was your first and why?

2.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that recently I met up with two college roommates.

We reminisced about our last meet-up. It was in NYC in 2013 the day before the NYC Marathon.

I had them take a picture of me at the finish line.

And now 6 years later, I am running that race.

Do you believe in serendipity? Have you  had a similar experience?

3.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that unfortunately my hubby will be in Palm Springs that same day competing in a national tennis tournament.  Yes, what are the odds that it would be the same day as my first marathon?

20140622-171427-62067370.jpg

Back in 2014, he did come to a race.

I was sad that he could not come since it is my first (and most likely my last) marathon.

Some of my running friends have expressed interest in coming down to NYC for the day to cheer me on.  But the logistics are not easy. I doubt they will be able.

I think a few of my tennis friends may come…. (Fingers crossed.)

If not, I will gather energy from the thousands of cheering fans that I do not know personally.

Do your family and friends cheer you on at big races?

Anyone coming to cheer? If so, let me know where you will be?

4.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that there are quite a few current and former bloggers who are running the NYC Marathon. Hopefully we can arrange a meet-up.

Cari, Lacey, Linda, Pam, and ???

loved meeting Michelle and Kim here

Anyone else coming to run? If so, when can we meet up? I’ll be at the expo on Sat.

5.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I have zero time goals for this race. It is my first full as I have mentioned.  My longest run was 20 miles and it was very painful. I did run two 14 milers, one 16 and one 18. I did not increase my mid-week runs due to job commitments. My weekly mileage was only usually in the 20s.

So do I think I can finish?

YES!!!

Will it hurt?

YES, most likely.

My goal is to run the first half SLOWLY, enjoy the WHOLE experience and get my MEDAL at the end!!!

Do you have a time goal for your big races or do you just do it for fun?


It’s also Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Got anything to spill? Share it here!
runner-sig

Runfessions for October

It’s that time again. Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

1. I runfess…

I wore brand new running shoes out of the box for my 20 miler.

It was during a 7 mile re-race run followed by a half marathon. And they were the same as shoes I had previously wore out — just a new pair. I was in pain but it was NOT because of the shoes LOL

happy to be nearing the finish line (and my cheering friends)

Anyone else race in new shoes?

2. I runfess…

I skipped one of my long runs in favor of a 10K race.

It was supposed to be a 14 miler but I did walk 8 miles that day in addition to the Grete’s Great Gallop 10k race in NYC.

a fun time in Central Park

Anyone else not worry about getting in ALL their long runs?

3.I runfess…

I signed up for a race the day after my 20 mile training run.

I planned to walk it. I was in a lot of pain during the second half of the run (and after) but the next morning all the pain was gone. I was good, though and walked MOST of it. Check out that 5k finish time LOL.

Anyone else recover from a long run or big race with a race?

4. I runfess…

I also signed up for a 15K race the week after my first full marathon.

I was at a recent expo and there was a discount. Again, I can take it slow if I am still sore, right?

during last year’s Stockade-athon

Anyone else race right after a full marathon ?

5.I runfess…

I also may run a 5k race (tomorrow the week before my full marathon and add on 5 miles before or after.)

It’s for a great cause and my running friends are busy this weekend. Why not race/run?

Oct. 26, 2019 9:30 am

Anyone else like to race all the time?


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month? Please share.

runner-sig

Ultimate Coffee Date for October

It’s that time of the month…

some people try to run in all 50 states. I just collect Starbucks mugs lol

to join up with Coco & Deborah for their ultimate coffee date.

1.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that it’s only October and I’ve already registered for TWO half marathons in 2020.

Image result for helderberg to hudson half marathon

April 15, 2020

Feb 16, 2020

Have you already registered for any 2020 races?

2.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I only have ONE more week of insane traveling with my job. After that it should be the normal occasional travel to NYC. (Should but who knows?)

Too bad, the 8 weeks of travel was during peak Marathon Training. UGH!

Anyone else have work get in the way of training for a big race?

3.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I’m following the minimal (get to the finish line) Marathon Training Plan. That means ONE 16, ONE 18 and ONE 20 miler (and NO long mid-week runs).

Long runs are tough!!

Kinda nervous. Hope the adrenaline and the crowds will get me through 26.2 miles.

All you first time marathoners, How many long runs did you do? How did it work out?

4.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that speaking of that dreaded 20 miler, I was going to run 7 miles from the finish of a half marathon and then take the bus to start. But the bus leaves at 6:15 am and the area is kinda shady plus it’s DARK.

Image result for hannaford half marathon

Oct. 13, 2019

New plan.

Park at the start and run 7 miles there. (Safer area). The race starts at 8:00 am. Then take the bus back to the start after the race.

Anyone else run a half marathon and use it as only a training run?

5.Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I’m thinking of running the NYC Half Marathon again.

You can sign up for the lottery on Oct. 17 but I think that I may get in by my H2H half marathon finish time (2:11:15).

      AGE         MARATHON TIME  HALF MARATHON TIME

one of the advantages of being OLD

It’s not guaranteed (like last year) since it was not a NYRR race but my time was fast enough.

Fingers crossed.

(And yes, that again would qualify me to run NYCM. And no, I WILL NOT RUN ANOTHER MARATHON!!!!!!!)

Anyone else entering the lottery for the NYC Half?


It’s also Friday so I’m also linking up with Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostess and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Got anything to spill? Share it here!
runner-sig