Friday Five: Loving/Not Loving

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

My topic today is:  Five Loving/Not Livings

Image result for loving

1.Cooler temps

There were a few days when I was actually chilly when running. I still wore a tank because I am stubborn like that but quickly added a jacket when I was done.

2. Running in different locations away from home.

I may not love my job but what I do enjoy about it is getting to see different places and running new routes away from home.

Roosevelt Island, NYC

along the beach of Lake Ontario in Rochester, NY

3. My 32nd Half Marathon is almost here.

My last half marathon was in the rain in May.  It seems like forever ago. But finally next weekend I will be in Montreal.  It’s my first Rock n Blogger event. And my first International Race.

I will be sharing the experience with 5 friends. Can’t wait!

Sherry and Christina behind her are two of my friends who are running it with me.

4.I am going to France!

I am beyond excited about this.

I haven’t been there since 2000 and as a former French teacher I used to go often.  Of course, I wasn’t a runner then so now my trip will include a race.

20 km de Paris

Oct 14, 2018

5.Hiking

I was recently lamenting that the summer was almost over and I had not gone on a single hike.

But then I convinced a friend to go hiking with me.

Stewart Mountain in Chestertown, NY (overlooking Loon Lake)

And I begged my hubby to do the same.

Pinnacle Pt in Bolton Landing, NY (overlooking Lake George)

Image result for not loving

1. The days are getting shorter.

2.I have a cold!

Achoo!!!!!!!!!!!!

3.I have insomnia.

Just one of those weeks….no sleep!!!!!!!!

4.I have been skipping some of my favorite 5ks.

Having FOMO from all those IG and FB posts of the races that I usually run.

This race supports Ovarian cancer. My friend in the pic recently died form this disease.

5.I need a manicure!

No time!!! Maybe this weekend.

Happy Running! What are  you Loving or Not Loving right now?

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: I received a free entry to the Rock ‘N Roll Montreal 5k and Half Marathon as part of being a Rock n Blogger.

Five Reasons to Run RnR Montreal

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

My next half marathon is right around the corner so …

My topic today is:  Five Reasons Why You Should Run Rock N Roll Montreal

  1. There are multiple races happening over one weekend. You can run a 5k, 10k, or challenge yourself with a half or full marathon.  In other words, there is a race for everyone.  There’s even a 1K for kids.
  2. You can go for multiple distances (and medals) over the course of the weekend. If you run one on Saturday and one on Sunday, you get an extra medal.  If you run another RnR in the US or another country, you get another special medal (Darn it. I ran Vegas last year and Brooklyn was canceled!!)

3. Music every step of the way! Mile markers with live bands, DJ’s, Drum Lines, and more. I ran Vegas and the music kept me going. it was awesome.

Image result for rock n roll marathon music

4. You are running in an International race without any trans Atlantic travel. How cool is that? No worries if you don’t speak French, signs are in BOTH languages.

Image result for montreal signs

5. The course(s) take you through the sites of the beautiful city of Montreal – the Montreal Biosphere, Notre Dame Basilica, Old Montreal, La Fontaine Park, and more.

 

Image result for montreal botanical garden 2018

Botanical Gardens

If you are still not convinced, watch this video:

Happy Running! Anyone else have run or will run RnR Montreal?

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: I received a free entry to the Rock ‘N Roll Montreal 5k and Half Marathon as part of being a Rock n Blogger.

Friday Five 2.0 – I’m Don’t Feel Like Running But I Run….

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

We are runners and that doesn’t mean that we always feel like running.

But why do we run on those days that we don’t feel like it?

My topic today is: Five Reasons Why You Are Running Today

1.You are training for a race and it’s on your plan.

2.Rain is in the forecast for tomorrow and the day after…

3. You had a stressful day at work or at home.

4. You need to burn off what you ate last night or what you are going to eat today.

5. Social Media — You need to post about your run.

There are even more reasons. I could go on and on…

Go for that run today… because

You'll Never Regret a Run

Happy Running! Why are you running today? Any other reasons why you run even though you don’t feel like it?

Friday Five 2.0 – Cherries!!

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

My topic today is: My favorite Summer Fruit

Image result for cherries

It’s Cherries because they taste good and …

they are good for you.

Here’s five reasons why:

1.Antioxidant Protection (superior to Vitamin E)

2.Cancer-Preventive Compounds

3.Reduce Inflammation and Post-Exercise Muscle Pain

4.Support Healthy Sleep (Contain Melatonin)

5.Reduce Belly Fat

‘Tis the season to buy those cherries.

And after the Cherry season, how do I get my dose of cherries?

  • Yogurt
Image result for tart cherry noosa

the only brand I eat LOL

  • Juice

R.W. Knudsen Family Organic Just Tart Cherry Juice - 32 fl oz Glass Bottle - image 1 of 1

  • Dried Cherries

Kirkland Signature Dried Cherries, 20 Ounce

  • Cherry Pie

How to Make Homemade Cherry Pie

So not all of the above are healthy. LOL

Happy Running! What was your favorite “healthy” fruit? Do you eat a lot of cherries in the summer? Do you eat cherries after the summer?

 

Ultimate Coffee date – August

It’s that time of the month…

It’s COFFEE ice cream, of course!!

to join up with Coco & Deborah for their ultimate coffee date.

Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I was wavering on running a summer half marathon. I usually run the 10k each year and many of my friends will be there. But as my running buddy said, for the half you only run the hills once rather than the same ones twice. (Just more different hills!!)

Image result for camp chingachgook half

However, my friend Anna from Russia saved the day.  She is coming to the US and I will be going to NYC to see her that weekend.

Anyone running a half marathon in the heat of summer??

Over coffee…

I’d tell you that you wouldn’t expect me to go to NYC and not a race, would you?  Actually, it was Anna’s idea not mine.

Image result for Governors island 5k

August 11, 2018 – 9 AM

I’ve visited Governor’s Island once and I’ve always wanted to run there.

Anyone running this race or have run it?

Over coffee…

I’d tell that my favorite “healthy” Starbucks drink has been discontinued…chocolate banana smoothie. They told me that they don’t have protein powder or bananas anymore.  Very bummed.

Ever have your favorite drink or food discontinued from a restaurant?

Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I decided NOT to run this half marathon even though I will have major FOMO. Just too expensive.  Maybe another year.

Image result for key west half marathon 2019

Ever not choose a race because of the cost (hotel/transportation)?

Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I recently realized that I could get a guaranteed entry into the 2019 NYC Marathon.

My 2018 Brooklyn Half Marathon finish time is: 2:11:23

The big problem is that I have never run a marathon, never wanted to run a marathon, never want to train for a marathon, etc. You get the picture.

Related image

Nov 3, 2019

If you were me, would you do it? (Don’t say “Yes” unless you plan to run it with me…)

Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I recently got my age group award in the mail for a race I ran in June.

pretty cool, I think. May be my favorite. (it’s a glass paper weight)

What is your favorite age group award?

Over coffee…

I’d tell you that I decided not to renew my tennis club membership and not to play in a regular tennis contract.

This was a very tough decision.  I have played tennis regularly for the past 20 years or so (although less frequently since I started running).

will be missing my Tuesday tennis pals

It’s expensive and right now, it’s too hard to fit into my work schedule.  Hopefully, it will only be a year off.

I still plan to take my annual tennis vacation in May and may even be able to sub for some of my tennis friends throughout the year.

Ever had to cut out an activity that you really love?

Happy Running! Got anything to spill? Share it here!
runner-sig

Friday Five 2.0- 2018, The First 6 months (in Numbers)

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

This summer I feel like I have really been slacking off.  My weekday runs have been a slog due to the humidity and lack of motivation. I think about running 5 miles and I can barely finish three (with lots of walking.) On the weekend? Well, I’d rather go boating or hanging out with friends than running. Last weekend, my planned 9-10 miler turned in to 5.

Instead of whining about my pathetic low number of miles so far in 2018, I’m going to look at the positives about the year so far.

So my topic today is: My 2018 Running Update

I know that I’m a month late but I finally had some time to assess the first 6 months of the year.

To be brief, here are just the numbers.

1.RACES RUN =19

  • 5k – 9
  • 4m – 1
  • 5m – 2
  • other – 4
  • 10k – 0
  • 15k – 1
  • Half Marathons – 2

2.New Races RUN = 4

  • Brew 2 Brew Half
  • Brooklyn Half
  • Brooklyn Ice Cream Social
  • Adirondack 15k

3.COURSE PRs = 9

  • Shamrock Shuffle (5m)
  • Ice Breaker Challenge 5k
  • Delmar Dash (5m)
  • Bacon Hill Bonanza 5k
  • Cherry Blossom 5k
  • Tropicool 5k
  • Summer Smith Memorial 5k
  • Freihofer 5k
  • Brooklyn Ice Cream Social 5k

4.PRs = 2

  • Delmar Dash (5m)
  • Bacon Hill Bonanza 5k

5.AGE GROUP AWARDS WON =17

1st Place

  • Winter Series (3m)
  • Winter Series (4.5m)
  • Shamrock Shuffle (5m)
  • Ice Breaker Challenge 5k
  • Bacon Hill Bonanza 5k
  • Cherry Blossom 5k
  • Tropicool 5k
  • PPTC Summer Speed Series #1 5K
  • PPTC Summer Speed Series #2 5K
  • Brooklyn Ice Cream Social 5k
  • Silks & Satins 5K

2nd Place

  • Polar Cap (4m)
  • Summer Smith Memorial 5k
  • Adirondack 15K

3rd Place

  • Winter Series (3.5m)
  • Brew 2 Brew Half Marathon
  • Delmar Dash (5m)

So often we only think about the last race or the next race. We stress out about mileage, pace and race plans.

Sometimes we just need to look at the whole picture. They say “pictures tell a story.”  Often, numbers tell a story.

At least they do this year for me. The numbers above put things in perspective.

When I look at them, I feel like I’ve had a pretty decent year so far.

I would remiss if I didn’t mention that at the start of year, I had ZERO expectations for PRs, Course PRs or Age Group Awards. I sign up for races that I would enjoy and to do my best to finish them. Whatever happens happens….

And who knows what the next 6 months will bring? (So far, I have another course PR and 1st in my age group 🙂 )

Happy Running! How has the first half of 2018 been for you? Do you ever look at the numbers?

 

Friday Five 2.0 – Runfessions for July

It’s that time again. Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

1. I runfess…

I signed up for a Virtual Race which I normally don’t do.  Yes, I love to give to charity but there are so many race local races where I can do that.

Why did I sign up?  The swag.

awesome medal

cool women’s tech shirt

Do you run virtual races? Anyone else love Central Park as much as I do?

2. I runfess…

As a Rock N Blogger, I definitely feel FOMO every time a Rock n Roll race happens (especially this month when all my favorite bloggers were running in Chicago.) I loved Vegas and ran Brooklyn and my plan was to run several Rock N Roll races.  But they cancelled Brooklyn and the only east coast race is Montreal.  But not until Sept 23….

Image result for rnr montreal

Any other Rock N Bloggers out there not able to run all the races they’d like? Anyone else running RnR Montreal??? Hopefully “yes.”

3. I runfess…

I used to race every weekend especially in the summer. But believe it or not, I only raced ONCE in July. Having friends to run with on the weekend has changed my running…

Do you ever lose the “racing fever”?

4. I runfess…

I used to reward myself with ice cream after long runs. But now I reward myself with ice cream after short runs and even after NO runs.

Ever give yourself an undeserved post run reward?

5. I runfess…

I bought a new skirt from Skirt Sports (that I don’t need) because I thought that the new pattern matched my new running shoes.

Women's Nike Air Zoom Vomero 13 Running Shoes - Color: Racer Blue/Blue Tint/Royal Pulse (Regular Width) - Size: 6.5

my shoes

except that it doesn’t match – still love the skirt.

Ever buy new running apparel just because of the color?


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month? Please share.

runner-sig

Friday Five 2.0: Running without a Plan

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

My topic today is: Why Run Without a Plan

I have mentioned often that I rarely have a plan.  I run whatever and wherever and run longer (sometimes) on the weekend.

Many things impact my runs – how I feel, what other family/work/social obligations I have, the weather, where I want to run, how much time I have, whom I am running with, etc.

For these reasons and others, I do not use a PLAN.

So here are my reasons why you too may want to try running without a plan:

1. Run with Others

It is hard to find a running partner who will run the same number of miles unless you are training for the same race.  Without a plan, you can be flexible on how many miles you run or if the run is easy or hard. Running with friends is the the most enjoyable way to run.

just some miles on Memorial Day

2. Run more Races

Running races on the weekend often does not fit into a plan.  Running races is motivating and fun way to squeeze in a speed workout.  You just sign up and not worry about how is the 5K going to match what is on your plan.

Workforce Challenge race- 3.5 miles mid-week

3. No Guilt

If your plan says run 6 miles and you only run 3.  You make excuses.  If your plan says 8 X 400m repeats and you do an easy run.  You feel guilty, right? Without a plan, you run whatever feels comfortable for you on any given day.  You can enjoy your runs.

too hot for more miles – no plan, don’t care

4. Freedom to Try New Routes

You can run on trail without worrying that you have to run long or do a tempo run.  You can choose a scenic hilly route. You definitely have more options when you don’t follow a plan.

whoa …hills!

5. Reduce Injuries.

With a plan, you may feel compelled to run when you should be resting or you may run with pain.  I mean, the plan says 7 miles today or the plan says hill repeats. So you run them. Without a plan, you are more likely to listen to your body.  Listening to your body helps you stay injury-free (or close to it.)

long day on the feet at work, chose a walk instead of a run

So yeah, I may be justifying my lack of running with a plan.

Does it make me less of a serious runner?  Hopefully not.

Not having a plan does not impact how often I run, how fast I run or how long I will continue running. In fact, I think it helps.

(Don’t hate me, all you running coaches out there…)

Happy Running! Do you always have a running plan?

 

Friday Five 2.0: Running as Therapy

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

My topic today is: How to Run As Therapy

Related image

I may have mentioned a few weeks ago that I almost risked a serious injury because I felt that if I stopped running, I’d go crazy.

So here are my tips on how to use running as “therapy.”

1. Do Speed Drills

Running 400m repeats at a particular pace will certainly take your mind off your problems.  You’ll either be breathing too hard to care or checking your watch to see what your pace is.

img_9540

2. Listen to Music

Do we have the time to sit at home and just listen to music? If you do play music, it is probably in the background while you are dong something else or often while you are driving. So download your favorite tunes and sing along as you run.  I bet the lyrics and the beat will temporarily make you forget your stressors.

20140417-094958.jpg

3. Subscribe to Podcasts.

There are so many great ones out there. I now prefer to listen to them when I drive or run instead of music. You may be entertained or even learn something new. Run This World is one of my current favorites.

Image result for podcasts while running

4. Meet up with a Friend

You can use this time to either seek out the advice of a running buddy or maybe just chat about something totally unrelated to what is causing you anxiety.

ready to start & happy it's skirt weather

5. Soak in your Surroundings.

Pick a new place or your favorite place where you can zone out on the flowers, trees, lake, river, etc.  Use nature to calm yourself.

 

Image result for running as Therapy

Happy Running! Do you use running as your therapy? Anything else to add?

 

Friday Five 2.0: Running with Friends

It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

My topic today is: How to Run with Friends

This post is a result of a conversation with some running friends.

This past Saturday, we met up with a new group of runners.  Since we all run at different paces, we paired up.

After the run, we went out to brunch and chatted. My friends complained about one new runner that ran with them.  They said that all she did was complain about how she ran too slow to run with the others.  Why should she drive and meet them if they didn’t run with her, yada yada yada. The result was that my friends said that they will never run with her again.

So here are my tips.  Maybe one will work for you.

1. Suck it up and run their pace

In other words, skip the intervals and if running without walking is too fast for you, just run fewer miles.

Faster fewer miles = slower longer interval miles

2. Run Slower

If your friends run slower than you, then add some miles before the run so you are running with them when you are tired.  Again you can run more miles if you are running them slower.

3. Do your Workouts and Drills at another time.

We all have goals, race plans or maybe a coach, but running with others is not the time to practice your race paces.  You can do this when you are running alone.

4. Meet Afterwards for Food

Runners all like to eat. So if you can’t run with friends, suggest meeting somewhere after where there is great food.

5. Be Encouraging

Nobody likes a Debbie Downer.  We all have bad runs and aches and pains.

Try to be the cheerleader and focus on the positives of a race or run.

So these suggestions may not work for you.  You may just like to run alone or running with others doesn’t fit into your schedule or you just want to do your own thing.

I can can say YES to all of the above but I also know that 10 miles while chatting with someone is much less painful than 10 solo miles.

Happy Running! Do you run with a friend?  Any other suggestions to add?